Posted by: rogermitchell | November 6, 2009

How I aim to proceed

Hello to you if you are new to this site or if you are a regular clicker. This is to let you know how I am planning to develop the blog in the coming days. I will try and post an update almost daily, and where this leads naturally to observations relevant to my main pages and categories I will connect them there. Otherwise I will leave them uncategorised. This way I will probably recognise new categories or whole pages that I want to post. For example, this morning I will be meeting up with an Anglican vicar whose parish I visited with a team some years ago to see how insights in spiritual warfare and intercessory repentance might shift some of the intransigent spiritual obstacles to the progress of the kingdom of God there. What we did seemed to have been so effective back then that now he wants to meet again on related issues in a new situation. Coincidentally this afternoon I am in another Anglican parish attempting an updated but similar process. I haven’t done anything like this for some years. This raises questions about the relationship between time, land, political formation and ecclesia – what I, drawing on the theologian William Cavanaugh but developing his ideas, call theopolitics [see his books Theopolitical Imagination (T & T Clark 2002) and Torture and the Eucharist (Blackwell Publishers 1998) ]. I will begin a theopolitics page soon.

Responses

  1. Great photo Rog. Love it! looking forward to tracking with your online journey

  2. Roger, I’m interested in where you go with “the relationship between time, land, political formation and ecclesia.” Recently Martin had some posts on his blog about Stewardship; one of them contrasting it with nationalism and patriotism. Having had a nagging problem with patriotism in the Church in the States, I cheered Martin’s opening on the subject. Seeing my enthusiasm, he has challenged me to work on the topic myself. In doing so, I’ve been wondering how patriotism gets into the Church and have speculated that there is a connection (or rather a dis-connection) with the land that contributes to this. So, I don’t know where YOU are going with “the relationship between time, land, political formation and ecclesia”, but I’ll be interested in seeing what comes from it and how it touches what I’ve been thinking about “stewardship” as the call of the Church.


Leave a Reply

Categories

