Posted by: rogermitchell | November 12, 2009

what we need to function!

I was chatting with someone the other day about possible causes of stress. I found myself prayerfully coming up with two essentials. Do you know that you are unconditionally loved and do you have a sense of call or destiny? Being sure of neither or having one without the other can cause stress I think. The problem with being liberated by God (at last!) into the postmodern, postchristendom world is that for some of us it loses the certainty of his love and the possibility of his call. Both came second hand from a bible that was used to keep us secure and a church that controlled us. However the living word is still here in the Holy Spirit revealing Christ and the Father’s love in the freed up scriptures, in the liberated ecclesia, and in the waiting created world. Don’t panic. Unconditional love and the divine call to live it and pass it on to our fellow humans and the creation is still available in the good news of the kingdom of God. It’s not lost, its being liberated from its captivity to empire, and us with it if we will. Now there’s the rub…

Responses

  1. That’s spot on! I’m sure that my stress is linked to “unbelief” or the incapacity or failure to just relax and let GOD be God and let Him love me as I am.
    This mould which has shaped us into human doings instead of human beings is so hard to get rid of or get out of…

  2. Good stuff Roger. I have realized here in Italy that much of my stress has left. Of course there is the stress of a new culture and language but that will ease after a bit. But all my life I avoided doing the PhD because I really didn’t want to be part of university (oh God has so many more ways of using a PhD than that). But the moment I agreed to do it and was accepted I felt a new level of peace and rest. I had stepped into a right place. And again, that has happened in Italy. I never considered Italy a place I wanted to be. But I arrived here and feel very at home. And it is the right place. I am doing what I am called to do and can only do it in God’s love as I so very much need people here to help me and bless me. Interestingly, despite all the hiking around I do, one result is the arthritis pain in my knees (had it for 30 years) seems to have disappeared. Amazing. So yes, we are all being liberated and that challenges us to know the true source of our restfulness and security. c.

    • Hi Cheryl. I find this new place of rest very exciting. When I hit sixty I felt that I had grown up at last. Like a teenager achieving eighteen or twenty-one! Without a word of exaggeration I feel better, fitter, more energetic than ever before. I don’t think this is because I’m now in my sixties but that I’ve hit this stage of life at the epochal moment when the Spirit is bringing his people out from Christendom into the fresh air of the kingdom of heaven. It’s certainly a good time to be a disciple of Christ.


Leave a Reply

Categories

