Posted by: rogermitchell | December 28, 2010

Bono on the incarnation

My friend Richard Long’s comment on the last blog links to his friend’s blog where this quote from Bono is located in a wider context. But I thought this was worth quoting:

“The idea that God, if there is a force of Logic and Love in the universe, that it would seek to explain itself is amazing enough. That it would seek to explain itself and describe itself by becoming a child born in straw poverty, in shit and straw a child I just thought: Wow! Just the poetry Unknowable love, unknowable power, describes itself as the most vulnerable. There it was. I was sitting there, and it’s not that it hadn’t struck me before, but tears came streaming down my face, and I saw the genius of this, utter genius of picking a particular point in time and deciding to turn on this.”

Capturing the fulness of the incarnation and living out of it day by day is the challenge that I want to put, explore, achieve and spread in the coming year.


Responses

  1. Look forward to seeing this explored Rog- such a great quote!


Leave a Reply

Categories

